My daughter, the Jewish camper/cowgirl/soldier

My daughter went away to overnight camp like so many Jewish kids do, but I never did.  It wasn’t a Jewish camp (I know, I know), but most of the kids are Jewish.  One of the activities is riflery, and it’s one of the most popular choices.  For girls. 

So what did I get in the mail one day?  None other than her rifle targets.  And damn, if she isn’t a good shot!

Then when we picked her up from camp, the only skills she wanted to demonstrate were the violent difficult ones.  Archery and riflery.

So we headed to the archery range where she shot arrows with finesse and missed every target by a longshot.

“Good thing you weren’t a Native American in the 1700’s,” I said.

Next we went to the riflery range, where we all donned bulky ear covers, and where my daughter, in her 12-year old wonder, scrambled down on her belly and assumed the position.  Rifle in hand she loaded, aimed and shot.  Loaded, aimed and shot.  Loaded, aimed and shot.  And she did really well.  She hit the target every time and many of the holes were right near the bull’s eye.  An arrow?  No.  A pellet? You bet.

And all I could think was, “Jewish girls do not shoot guns.”

Then I met the riflery instructors.  Young Israeli men. 

And then I realized, Jewish girls do shoot guns.

1 Response to “My daughter, the Jewish camper/cowgirl/soldier”


  1. 1 yourotherjewishmother July 31, 2007 at 10:29 pm

    Good for her! But what are you going to do if she wants to join the Israeli army, where so many jewish girls shoot rifles?


Leave a Reply

Your Jewish Mother blogs about

Your Jewish Mother loves company!

  • 30,410 visits to Your Jewish Mother

Your Jewish Mother says read this:


