Sushi Shmushi

Today I was thinking about my grandmother, the one who cooked hams and put Franco American gravy on her brisket, but who spoke Yiddish like a banshee and tied red ribbons to everything when my son, her first great-grandchild, was born, just like she put a penny in my shoe and used a teeny tiny safety pin to attach a red bow to my bra strap on my wedding day.

 Tuh Tuh Tuh.

And then I remembered Chopped Herring and how she loved it and set it out with Ritz crackers for company.  So I thought I would post a recipe for chopped herring here, in honor of my grandmother on the birthday of her only great-granddaughter. 

I found this easy Chopped Herring recipe at Totally Jewish dot com.

Enjoy!

Chopped Herring (serves 6)

Sushi, shmushi! If it’s raw fish you fancy, try out Ethel’s totally traditional recipe for chopped herring.

Ingredients:
6 herrings
3 large eating apples
4 hard-boiled eggs
1 large onion
1 tablespoon of sugar, or to taste

Method:
Finely chop one egg and set it aside. Place the remaining ingredients in a food processor until all ingredients are chopped.

Spoon into serving bowl and sprinkle remaining chopped egg on top.

2 Responses to “Sushi Shmushi”


  1. 1 Rebecca August 9, 2007 at 8:52 am

    This blog is beautiful! You make me laugh and I LOVE the recipes. Having Not Grown Up Jewish I need ’em, for my little vilda chayas! Can’t wait to try bowties & groats — inspired!

  2. 2 aunti g. August 11, 2007 at 8:59 am

    You are the greatest!!!!!! write a book…do an article for the last page of the nytimes, etc., etc.
    I am so proud of you….(


Leave a Reply

Your Jewish Mother blogs about

Your Jewish Mother loves company!

  • 30,906 visits to Your Jewish Mother

Your Jewish Mother says read this:


