And we do this…why?

Along the lines of Red, Red Ribbons,  there is another bubbemeiser (old wives tale) that I have never understood. 

Why don’t we take something out of a shiva house? 

I first learned this when my grandmother died and we sat shiva at my house.  I was in my early 20’s, just out of college.  My crazy grandmother (but that is for another blog) had suddenly passed away.  I lived with my parents and siblings and we were now a house of mourning.  Someone had brought us something to eat and I went to give them the cleaned off platter before they left.  My aunt quickly stopped me and said “We don’t do that! If you bring something into a shiva house you don’t take it out until shiva is over.”  I asked her why.  She replied, “I don’t know. That’s what my mother told me.”  

So I consulted the book the rabbi who had given us on laws and traditions on Jewish funerals and mourning.  This book had every answer, even what to do if there is a gravedigger strike (answer? wait until the strike is over–support the union).  It did not have the one answer I was looking for.

So, I asked my great-aunt.  She said “Because my mother said so.”

Clearly, I needed to ask an expert.  The next evening when the Rabbi came to lead minyan, my aunt and I went to him and said, “Rabbi, why don’t we take something out of a shiva house?”  He gave us his answer. “Why? Because my mother said so.”

Does anyone’s mother know the answer? 

And why, do we question and doubt our mothers on so many things, but not this?  Perhaps that is the bigger question.

2 Responses to “And we do this…why?”


  1. 1 Selfmademom August 13, 2007 at 9:13 am

    I think someone somehow needs to add “because my mother said so” to the Bible. I swear it means more than any of the Ten Commandments!

  2. 2 Rebecca August 28, 2007 at 7:44 pm

    It’s all the same lesson, right? Why do we do these things? Because our mothers told us to! It’s a lesson you could spend your whole life learning.


Leave a Reply

Your Jewish Mother blogs about

Your Jewish Mother loves company!

  • 30,410 visits to Your Jewish Mother

Your Jewish Mother says read this:


