Brisket, the Recipe I Like

thumb-brisket.jpg 

This is my mom’s brisket recipe.   Ok, it’s actually Betty’s recipe, a long-time family friend. 

This is not the recipe with grape jelly or beer.  I never understood those, they did not sound very Jewish to me.  It is not the recipe with onion soup mix–that is how my aunt made brisket–that is the one my sister likes. 

This is the recipe I like. 

But my daughter the vegetarian, of course does not eat it.

My son, the carnivore, does not like any brisket, so he will not eat it. 

My mother also makes it with a veal brisket, but my brother-in-law will not eat that because of the way the calves are raised. 

My husband will eat this, but he eats almost anything.

Nevertheless-this is the recipe I will make, or my mother will make, for Rosh Hashanah. 

Roast the brisket 1/2 hour per pound, covered, at 300 F (less 1/2 hour)

Refrigerate or use ice cubes to congeal fat and remove the fat.

Slice, and add to sauce below.

Brown 3 sliced onions and 1 lb sliced fresh mushrooms.

Add 2 large cans tomato sauce, 1/2 tsp worsteshire sauce, salt, petter, and 1/4 tsp garlic flakes or 1 clove garlic.

Simmer sauce a few minutes and pour over uncovered meat last 1/2 hour.

 That’s the recipe, word for word from my mom’s recipe card.

Thanks Mom!  Shana Tova, and will you make it this year?

0 Responses to “Brisket, the Recipe I Like”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your Jewish Mother blogs about

Your Jewish Mother loves company!

  • 30,096 visits to Your Jewish Mother

Your Jewish Mother says read this:


