High Holiday fun

holidaybook.gif 

When my kids were little I always looked for ways to have all Jewish holidays fill more than just our time in services or their lessons at preschool and Hebrew School.  For most holidays – aside from Rosh Hashanah and Yom Kippur – my kids went to school, so  I made a habit of having Jewish books and crafts or toys out on the living room coffee table so that they naturally looked at them and played with them.

My kids aren’t growing up in an area where “everyone” is Jewish, so I found this to be a way of also having their friends see and learn a little about holidays and to integrate it into their day and their play.

2 Responses to “High Holiday fun”


  1. 1 Amy August 28, 2007 at 4:25 am

    That’s a good idea. My kids are so underwhelmed by the holidays coming up (probably because the service at my parents’ synogogue is so frigging boring!) that I’m searching for stuff to make it more memorable/palatable for them..

  2. 2 Rebecca August 28, 2007 at 6:18 pm

    What a great idea — I’m stealing this one. I really love the high holy days. Seem to come at just the right time, when summer is ending and I’m dreading winter. It’s such a good way of getting grounded again, of moving into the routines that give us comfort in the long dark months…


Leave a Reply

Your Jewish Mother blogs about

Your Jewish Mother loves company!

  • 30,410 visits to Your Jewish Mother

Your Jewish Mother says read this:


